The Coronation Stakes

Run over a mile, the Coronation Stakes are the penultimate Group 1 race at Royal Ascot. Named for the coronation of Queen Victoria, celebrating the event that occurred shortly before the race was first run (by a couple of years, rather than 10 minutes before the race!).

The race itself is run over a mile and is the opposite of the St. James’s Palace Stakes, in that it is open to 3 year old fillies instead of colts. Being a Group 1 race, the prize money remains significant, with £250,000 to be shared out between the horses (the £250,000 doesn’t all go to the winner, though they do get the lion’s share of the amount).

The Coronation Stakes is another where the field is wide open and hasn’t been dominated by a particular trainer, jockey or horse, with the only trainer to have their horse win more than once since 2000 being Barry Hills.

Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Odds (SP) Going
2009 Ghanaati Richard Hills Barry Hills 2/1 Good to Firm
2008 Lush Lashes Kevin Manning Jim Bolger 5/1 Firm
2007 Indian Ink Richard Hughes Richard Hannon 8/1 Good to Soft
2006 Nannina Jimmy Fortune John Gosden 6/1 Good to Firm
2005 Maids Causeway Michael Hills Barry Hills 9/2 Good to Firm