The Golden Jubilee Stakes

The Golden Jubilee Stakes are the second of two Global Sprint Challenge races to be hosted by Royal Ascot (the other being the King’s Stand Stakes held on day one). In addition to this, the Golden Jubilee Stakes has the joint highest prize fund of all the races at Royal Ascot, at an enormous £450,000 to be shared out amongst the winning horses.

The Golden Jubilee Stakes is the final Group 1 race at Royal Ascot. Up until 2002, there were only 4 days in the schedule, but being the Queen’s Golden Jubilee, an extra day was added in celebration, and in addition, the race formerly known as the Cork & Orrery Stakes was renamed the Golden Jubilee Stakes, which it remains as today.

Though only recently renamed, the original race was first run in the 1860s. The race remains fairly open, with only Jonny Murtagh riding more than one horse to victory since 2000.

Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Odds (SP) Going
2009 Art Connoisseur Tom Queally Michael Bell 20/1 Good to Firm
2008 Kingsgate Native Seb Sanders John Best 33/1 Good to Firm
2007 Soldier’s Tale Jonny Murtagh Jeremy Noseda 9/1 Good to Soft
2006 Les Arcs John Egan Tim Pitt 33/1 Good to Firm
2005 Cape of Good Hope Michael Kinane David Oughton 6/1 Firm