The Prince of Wales’s Stakes

The Prince of Wales’s Stakes offers the joint highest prizes of all the races at Royal Ascot, the other being The Golden Jubilee Stakes – these races both offering a staggering £450,000 in prize money. The race itself is only open to horses age 4 or older and in recent years the winners are roughly about 4 years old, unlike the King’s Stand Stakes, where some older horses, such as Takeover Target and Miss Andretti, have won.

As with the other feature races, The Prince of Wales’s Stakes are long established, having first been run in 1862, though there was a large gap after World War II, ostensibly due to the lack of a Prince of Wales until Prince Charles took on the title in 1969. Now the race is back on annually, and is the ‘jewel in the crown’ (to use a royal cliché) of Day 2 of Royal Ascot.

Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Odds (SP) Going
2009 Vision d’Etat Olivier Peslier Eric Lebaud 4/1 Good to Firm
2008 Duke of Marmalade Jonny Murtagh Aiden O’Brien Evens Good to Firm
2007 Manduro Staphane Pasquier Andre Fabre 15/8 Good to Firm
2006 Ouija Board Olivier Peslier Ed Dunlop 8/1 Good to Firm
2005 Azamour Michael Kinane John Oxxr 11/8 Good to Firm