The St. James’s Palace Stakes

This is the last of three Group 1 races that are run on Day 1 of Royal Ascot. This race is more unusual in that only 3 year old colts are eligible for this race. It is also the oldest of the three Group 1 races held on the first day, having been established in 1834.

Being a Group 1 race, the prize money available is significant – £250,000 in 2010, though this is the lower end for Group 1 races at Royal Ascot! The St. James’s Palace Stakes were not always regarded as a Group 1 race, having been rated as a Group 2 race until being upgraded in 1988.

Aiden O’Brien has been running away with this race, having his horse win the last 3 races in a row, and no less than 6 times since 2000. Jonny Murtagh hasn’t done too badly either, riding the winning horse to victory in both 2008 & 2009.

Previous Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Odds (SP) Going
2009 Mastercraftsman Jonny Murtagh Aiden O’Brien 5/6 Good to Firm
2008 Henrythenavigator Jonny Murtagh Aiden O’Brien 4/7 Good to Firm
2007 Excellent Art Jamie Spencer Aiden O’Brien 8/1 Good to Firm
2006 Araafa Alan Munro Jeremy Noseda 2/1 Good to Firm
2005 Shamardal Kerrin McEvoy Saeed bin Suroor 7/4 Good to Firm