The Coronation Cup

The Coronation Cup, so called due to being established in celebration of the Coronation of Edward VII back in 1902. This makes it a lot more recent than both the Oaks and the Derby held during the Derby Festival, though it is still a Group 1 race.

The legendary Lester Piggott still retains the record for riding the highest number of winners in this race at a staggering 9 victories spanning 4 decades! In recent years, Aiden O’Brien has been doing very well, with horses that he’s trained winning in 3 out of the previous 5 years – though looking back through the years, the wins tend to come for trainers in small clusters.

The Coronation Cup is open to horses 4 years old and upwards, unlike the 2 Classics held at the Derby Festival which are limited to 3 year olds only, however, all three races are held over the same distance of 1m 4f and 10yds.

Previous winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Odds (SP) Going
2009 Ask Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute 5/1 Good
2008 Soldier of Fortune Jonny Murtagh Aiden O’Brien 9/4 Good
2007 Scorpion Michael Kinane Aiden O’Brien 8/1 Good to Soft
2006 Shirocco André Fabre Christophe Soumillon 8/11F Good
2005 Yeats Kieren Fallon Aiden O’Brien 5/1 Good