The Oaks

The Oaks predate the Derby by 1 year, and this makes it one of the oldest races that are still being run. Like the Derby, this race was inaugurated by the Earl of Derby (some say his guests) and his horse promptly went on to win the first race held.

The Oaks are the first of 2 of the Classics – 5 flat racing horse races that are considered to be the pinnacle of the sport – that are held during the Derby Festival and unlike the Derby, the Oaks is restricted to fillies (female horses) only. The prestige of the race is such that there is significant prize fund on offer – £350k!

The Oaks are held on Ladies day at the festival, which like Royal Ascot, attracts much attention from the broadcasters covering the race (the winner is announced live on the BBC!).

Previous winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Odds (SP) Going
2009 Sariska Jamie Spencer Michael Bell 9/4F Good
2008 Look Here Seb Saunders Ralph Beckett 33/1 Good
2007 Light Shift Ted Durcan Henry Cecil 13/2 Good to Soft
2006 Alexandrova Kieron Fallon Aiden O’Brien 9/4F Good
2005 Eswarah Richard Hills Michael Jarvis 11/4J Good